编者简介:这是每月一次,网络安全供应商Check Point于2020年XNUMX月发布其恶意软件报告。该报告提到使用Phorpiex僵尸网络的攻击激增,该网络随后在恶意垃圾邮件活动中提供勒索软件。 供应商的版本如下。

2020年XNUMX月最想要的恶意软件:臭名昭著的Phorpiex僵尸网络再次成为影响力最大的感染

Check Point Research报告指出,使用Phorpiex僵尸网络在恶意垃圾邮件活动中提供Avaddon勒索软件的攻击激增

新加坡,@mcgallen#microwire资讯,10年2020月XNUMX日 – Check Point Research,美国威胁情报部门CheckPoint®软件技术有限公司 (NASDAQ:CHKP),全球领先的网络安全解决方案提供商,已发布了最新的 2020年XNUMX月全球威胁指数,这表明著名的Phorpiex僵尸网络的感染激增,使其成为本月最流行的恶意软件,影响了全球4%的组织。 Phorpiex最近一次出现在今年10月的威胁指数前XNUMX名中。

Phorpiex僵尸网络于2010年首次被报道,并在其高峰期控制了超过一百万的受感染主机。 以通过垃圾邮件分发其他恶意软件家族以及助长大规模传播而闻名 “勒索”垃圾邮件活动 和加密采矿一样,Phorpiex再次分发了Avaddon勒索软件,就像Check Point研究人员最初那样 报道 今年早些时候。 Avaddon是一种相对较新的勒索软件即服务(RaaS)变体,其运营商再次开始招募会员以分发勒索软件以减少利润。 Avaddon已通过JS和Excel文件作为垃圾邮件活动的一部分进行分发,并且能够加密各种文件类型。

“ Phorpiex是最古老,最持久的僵尸网络之一,其创建者已经使用了许多年来分发其他恶意软件有效载荷,例如GandCrab和Avaddon勒索软件,或进行性欺诈。 这种新的感染浪潮现在正在传播另一个勒索软件活动,这表明Phorpiex工具的有效性。” Check Point产品威胁情报和研究总监Maya Horowitz说。 “组织应该教育员工如何识别潜在的垃圾邮件,并警惕打开电子邮件中的未知附件,即使这些附件似乎来自受信任的来源。 他们还应确保自己部署的安全性能够主动防止其感染网络。”

该研究小组还警告说,“ HTTP标头远程执行代码(CVE-2020-13756)”是最普遍利用的漏洞,影响了全球54%的组织,其次是“ MVPower DVR远程执行代码”影响了全球48%的组织, “ Dasan GPON路由器身份验证旁路(CVE-2018-10561)影响了全球44%的组织。

顶级恶意软件家族

*箭头与上个月相比排名变化

本月,Phorpiex是最受欢迎的恶意软件,在全球范围内影响了4%的组织,紧随其后的是Dridex和Hiddad,它们都影响了全球3%的组织。

  1. ↑Phorpiex – Phorpiex是一个僵尸网络,以通过垃圾邮件活动分发其他恶意软件系列以及推动大规模的Sextortion活动而闻名。
  2. ↑Dridex – Dridex是针对Windows平台的木马,据报道是通过垃圾邮件附件下载的。 Dridex联系远程服务器并发送有关受感染系统的信息。 它还可以下载并执行从远程服务器接收的任意模块。
  3. ↔希达德 – Hiddad是一种Android恶意软件感染程序,会重新打包合法的移动应用程序,然后将其发布到第三方商店。 它的主要功能是显示广告,但它也可以访问操作系统内置的关键安全详细信息。

利用最严重的漏洞

本月,“ HTTP标头远程执行代码(CVE-2020-13756)”是最普遍利用的漏洞,影响了全球54%的组织,其次是“ MVPower DVR远程执行代码”影响了全球48%的组织和“ Dasan GPON路由器”身份验证绕过(CVE-2018-10561)影响了全球44%的组织。

  1. ↑HTTP标头远程代码执行(CVE-2020-13756)– HTTP标头使客户端和服务器可以通过HTTP请求传递其他信息。 远程攻击者可能使用易受攻击的HTTP标头在受害计算机上运行任意代码。
  2. MVPower DVR远程执行代码 – MVPower DVR设备中存在远程执行代码漏洞。 远程攻击者可以利用此漏洞通过精心设计的请求在受影响的路由器中执行任意代码。
  3. 茶山GPON路由器身份验证绕过(CVE-2018-10561) – Dasan GPON路由器中存在一个身份验证绕过漏洞。 成功利用此漏洞将使远程攻击者可以获得敏感信息并获得对受影响系统的未授权访问。

热门移动恶意软件

本月,Hiddad仍然是最流行的移动恶意软件,其次是xHelper和Lotoor。

  1. 希达德– Hiddad是一种Android恶意软件感染,会重新打包合法应用程序,然后将其发布到第三方商店。 它的主要功能是显示广告,但它也可以访问操作系统内置的关键安全详细信息。
  2. xHelper – xHelper是自2019年XNUMX月以来在野外常见的恶意应用程序,用于下载其他恶意应用程序和显示广告。 该应用程序可以向用户隐藏自身,并在卸载后重新安装。
  3. Lotoor – Lotoor是一种黑客工具,可利用Android操作系统上的漏洞来获取受感染移动设备的root特权。

Check Point的全球威胁影响指数及其ThreatCloud Map由Check Point的ThreatCloud智能技术提供支持,该智能网络是打击网络犯罪的最大协作网络,可从全球威胁传感器网络提供威胁数据和攻击趋势。 ThreatCloud数据库每天检查超过2.5亿个网站和500亿个文件,每天识别超过250亿个恶意软件活动。

您可以在以下网址找到10月份十大恶意软件家族的完整列表: Check Point博客.

关于Check Point研究 

Check Point Research为您提供领先的网络威胁情报 Check Point Software 客户和更大的情报界。 研究团队收集并分析存储在ThreatCloud上的全球网络攻击数据,以阻止黑客攻击,同时确保所有Check Point产品都已得到最新保护。 该研究团队由100多名分析师和研究人员组成,他们与其他安全厂商,执法部门和各种CERT合作。

通过以下方式关注Check Point Research:

关于我们 Check Point Software 技术公司

Check Point Software 科技有限公司(www.checkpoint.com)是网络安全解决方案,为政府和企业在全球企业的领先供应商。 Check Point的解决方案以行业领先的恶意软件,勒索软件和高级针对性威胁捕获率,保护客户免受第五代网络攻击。 Check Point提供了多层安全体系结构,“具有Gen V高级威胁防御功能的Infinity全面保护”,这种组合的产品体系结构可保护企业的云,网络和移动设备。 Check Point提供最全面,最直观的控制安全管理系统。 Check Point可保护超过5个各种规模的组织。

###

Editor’s brief: It is that time of the month again, when cybersecurity vendor Check Point releases its montly malware report, for November 2020. The report mentioned a surge in attacks using the Phorpiex botnet, which then delivers ransomware in malicious spam campaigns. The vendor’s release is below.

November 2020’s Most Wanted Malware: Notorious Phorpiex Botnet Returns As Most Impactful Infection

Check Point Research reports new surge in attacks using the Phorpiex Botnet delivering the Avaddon ransomware in malicious spam campaigns

SINGAPORE, @mcgallen #microwireinfo, December 10, 2020 – Check Point Research, the Threat Intelligence arm ofCheck Point® Software Technologies Ltd. (NASDAQ: CHKP), a leading provider of cyber security solutions globally, has published its latest Global Threat Index for November 2020, showing a new surge in infections by the well-known Phorpiex botnet which has made it the month’s most prevalent malware, impacting 4% of organisations globally.  Phorpiex was last seen in the Threat Index’s top 10 in June this year.

The Phorpiex botnet was first reported in 2010, and at its peak controlled more than a million infected hosts. Known for distributing other malware families via spam as well as fueling large-scale “sextortion” spam campaigns and cryptomining, Phorpiex has again been distributing the Avaddon ransomware, as Check Point researchers originally reported earlier this year.  Avaddon is a relatively new Ransomware-as-a-Service (RaaS) variant, and its operators have again been recruiting affiliates to distribute the ransomware for a cut of the profits. Avaddon has been distributed via JS and Excel files as part of malspam campaigns and is able to encrypt a wide range of file types.

“Phorpiex is one of the oldest and most persistent botnets, and has been used by its creators for many years to distribute other malware payloads such as GandCrab and Avaddon ransomware, or for sextortion scams. This new wave of infections is now spreading another ransomware campaign, which shows just how effective a tool Phorpiex is,” said Maya Horowitz, Director, Threat Intelligence & Research, Products at Check Point. “Organizations should educate employees about how to identify potential malspam and to be wary of opening unknown attachments in emails, even if they appear to come from a trusted source. They should also ensure they deploy security that actively prevents them from infecting their networks.”

The research team also warns that “HTTP Headers Remote Code Execution (CVE-2020-13756)” is the most common exploited vulnerability, impacting 54% of organisations globally, followed by “MVPower DVR Remote Code Execution” impacted 48% of organisations worldwide and “Dasan GPON Router Authentication Bypass (CVE-2018-10561) impacted 44% of organisations globally.

Top malware families

*The arrows relate to the change in rank compared to the previous month

This month, Phorpiex is the most popular malware with a global impact of 4% of organisations, closely followed by Dridex and Hiddad which both impacted 3% of organisations worldwide.

  1. ↑ Phorpiex – Phorpiex is a botnet known for distributing other malware families via spam campaigns as well as fueling large scale Sextortion campaigns.
  2. ↑ Dridex – Dridex is a Trojan that targets the Windows platform and is reportedly downloaded via a spam email attachment. Dridex contacts a remote server and sends information about the infected system. It can also download and execute arbitrary modules received from the remote server.
  3. ↔ Hiddad – Hiddad is an Android malware infection which repackages legitimate mobile apps and then releases them to a third-party store. Its main function is to display ads, but it can also gain access to key security details built into the OS.

Top exploited vulnerabilities

This month “HTTP Headers Remote Code Execution (CVE-2020-13756)” is the most common exploited vulnerability, impacting 54% of organisations globally, followed by “MVPower DVR Remote Code Execution” impacted 48% of organisations worldwide and “Dasan GPON Router Authentication Bypass (CVE-2018-10561) impacted 44% of organisations globally.

  1. ↑ HTTP Headers Remote Code Execution (CVE-2020-13756) – HTTP headers let the client and the server pass additional information with an HTTP request. A remote attacker may use a vulnerable HTTP Header to run arbitrary code on the victim machine.
  2. MVPower DVR Remote Code Execution – remote code execution vulnerability exists in MVPower DVR devices. A remote attacker can exploit this weakness to execute arbitrary code in the affected router via a crafted request.
  3. Dasan GPON Router Authentication Bypass (CVE-2018-10561) – An authentication bypass vulnerability that exists in Dasan GPON routers. Successful exploitation of this vulnerability would allow remote attackers to obtain sensitive information and gain unauthorised access into the affected system.

Top Mobile Malwares

This month Hiddad remains the most prevalent Mobile malware, followed by xHelper and Lotoor.

  1. Hiddad – Hiddad is an Android malware infection which repackages legitimate apps and then releases them to a third-party store. Its main function is to display ads, but it can also gain access to key security details built into the OS.
  2. xHelper – xHelper is a malicious application seen in the wild since March 2019, used for downloading other malicious apps and display advertisement. The application is capable of hiding itself from the user and reinstalling itself in case it is uninstalled.
  3. Lotoor – Lotoor is a hack tool that exploits vulnerabilities on Android operating system in order to gain root privileges on compromised mobile devices.

Check Point’s Global Threat Impact Index and its ThreatCloud Map is powered by Check Point’s ThreatCloud intelligence, the largest collaborative network to fight cybercrime which delivers threat data and attack trends from a global network of threat sensors. The ThreatCloud database inspects over 2.5 billion websites and 500 million files daily, and identifies more than 250 million malware activities every day.

The complete list of the top 10 malware families in November can be found on the Check Point Blog.

About Check Point Research 

Check Point Research provides leading cyber threat intelligence to Check Point Software customers and the greater intelligence community. The research team collects and analyses global cyber-attack data stored on ThreatCloud to keep hackers at bay, while ensuring all Check Point products are updated with the latest protections. The research team consists of over 100 analysts and researchers cooperating with other security vendors, law enforcement and various CERTs.

Follow Check Point Research via:

About Check Point Software Technologies Ltd.

Check Point Software Technologies Ltd. (www.checkpoint.com) is a leading provider of cyber security solutions to governments and corporate enterprises globally.  Check Point’s solutions protect customers from 5th generation cyber-attacks with an industry leading catch rate of malware, ransomware and advanced targeted threats. Check Point offers a multilevel security architecture, “Infinity Total Protection with Gen V advanced threat prevention”, this combined product architecture defends an enterprise’s cloud, network and mobile devices. Check Point provides the most comprehensive and intuitive one point of control security management system. Check Point protects over 100,000 organisations of all sizes.

###