发表于

安全专业人员在2019年Ponemon Institute和DomainTools调查中揭示了采用自动化和AI作为网络安全工具背后的原因和担忧


新加坡,16年2019月XNUMX日– DomainTools域名和基于DNS的网络威胁情报的领导者,今天宣布了研究结果“在自动化时代配备IT安全功能”,与Ponemon Institute一起进行。 遍布亚太(APAC),美国和英国的1,400多名安全专业人员就自动化和人工智能(AI)对网络安全职能人员配备的影响提供了答案。 该研究中的所有受访者都有责任在其组织内吸引,雇用,晋升和保留网络安全人员。

网络安全人员普遍短缺和自动化需求

结果清楚地表明,跨地理区域的网络安全人员短缺(所有受访者中有78%承认其团队人手不足)。

根据受访者的说法,自动化将为该问题提供部分解决方案,使网络安全专业人员摆脱耗时且不具成本效益的任务(例如恶意软件分析)的困扰,该任务已经自动化(50%)或计划成为自动化在未来三年(56%)。

但是,只有35%的受访者认为自动化将减少其网络安全职能的人数:40%的受访者甚至期望对具有更高级技术技能的员工的需求增加。

Ponemon Institute主席兼创始人Larry Ponemon博士说:“在短短一年内,有关采用自动化技术的观点已在网络安全专业人员中发生了显着变化。” “与人们普遍认为自动化的兴起将威胁到就业市场相反,组织现在认为这些技术将有助于缓解当前对资源的压力,并在增强网络安全防御能力的同时为提高高技能员工的工作安全性提供潜力。”

英国和美国的受访者对自动化将提高其网络安全人员的工作能力(分别占受访者的59%和65%)更有信心,而亚太地区的受访者(48%)则更有可能不相信AI作为网络安全工具(37%的受访者,相比之下,英国为31%,美国为24%)。

亚太地区网络安全技能的普及 

与英国(67%)和美国(70%)相比,亚太地区(78%)的技能短缺似乎也更低,这可能部分解释了跨地区对自动化和AI的依赖和信任程度不同。

同时,该调查报告称,有40%的受访者预计对具有更高级技术技能的员工的需求会增加,尤其是在亚太地区,因为政府和教育机构已经在加速诸如ASEAN-Singapore等专门的网络安全计划和计划网络安全卓越中心在2018年XNUMX月的东盟网络安全部长级会议(AMCC)上宣布,东盟国家在该会议上对区域网络安全框架采用基于规则的方法。 东盟或东南亚国家联盟是一个由文莱,柬埔寨,印度尼西亚,老挝,马来西亚,缅甸,菲律宾,新加坡,泰国和越南组成的十国集团。

在那些表示AI被视为组织中的安全工具的受访者中,大多数将人员短缺视为其企业采用该解决方案的主要原因(53%)。

DomainTools高级安全顾问Corin Imai说:“调查的结果表明,总体而言,网络安全专业人员相信自动化将使他们的工作负载更易于管理,并将提高某些任务的准确性,而又不会损害其工作安全性。” “尽管人们对人工智能和自动化作为网络安全工具的信任程度存在地域差异,但促使其采用的原因包括:减轻工作过度的团队,防止停机和业务中断,减少在全球数字经济中运营所造成的威胁等。 –似乎在各地区之间是一致的,这表明全球组织的目标和期望是一致的。”

在以下位置下载“在自动化时代配置IT安全功能”研究:
https://www.domaintools.com/resources/survey-reports/2019-ponemon-survey-report-staffing-the-it-security-function

有关DomainTools及其产品套件的其他信息,请访问: https://www.domaintools.com/.

方法
这项由Ponemon Institute代表DomainTools进行的,在自动化时代为IT安全功能配备人员的研究,分析了公司如何解决吸引和保留IT安全从业人员的问题,以及自动化和人工智能(AI)的影响在人员配备上。 在美国,英国和亚太地区,有1,400多名IT和IT安全从业人员参与了吸引,雇用,晋升和保留公司内部IT安全人员的活动。 该报告可以在此处下载,完整的数据可根据要求提供。

关于DomainTools
DomainTools帮助安全分析师将威胁数据转化为威胁情报。 我们从您的网络中获取指示器,包括域和IP,并将它们与Internet上几乎每个活动域连接。 这些连接可为风险评估提供信息,帮助描述攻击者,指导在线欺诈调查以及将网络活动映射到攻击者基础结构。 《财富》 1000强公司,全球政府机构和领先的安全解决方案供应商将DomainTools平台用作其威胁调查和缓解工作的关键要素。 在以下网址了解有关如何将恶意活动的点点滴滴联系在一起的更多信息 https://www.domaintools.com/ 或在Twitter上关注我们:@domaintools。

关于波蒙蒙研究所
Ponemon Institute©致力于在企业和政府中推进负责任的信息和隐私管理实践。 为了实现这一目标,研究所进行了独立研究,对来自私营和公共部门的领导人进行了教育,并验证了各个行业组织的隐私和数据保护做法。

###

2019 Ponemon Study on Automation and Cybersecurity Staffing in Asia Pacific, United States and the UK shows an evolving Asia Pacific cybersecurity arena

Photo by Parker Byrd on Unsplash

Security professionals reveal the reasons and concerns behind the adoption of automation and AI as cybersecurity tools in the 2019 Ponemon Institute and DomainTools survey


Singapore, April 16, 2019 – DomainTools, a leader in domain name and DNS-based cyber threat intelligence, today announced the results of the study “Staffing the IT Security Function in the Age of Automation”, conducted in conjunction with the Ponemon Institute. More than 1,400 security professionals based across the Asia Pacific (APAC), US, and the UK provided answers on the impact that automation and artificial intelligence (AI) will have on the staffing of cybersecurity functions. All respondents in the study are responsible in attracting, hiring, promoting and retaining cybersecurity personnel within their organizations.

Universal Shortage of Cybersecurity Staff and Need for Automation

Results clearly indicated a shortage of cybersecurity staff across geographical regions (78% of all respondents admitted their teams are understaffed).

According to respondents, automation will provide a partial solution to the problem, relieving cybersecurity professionals of time-consuming and non-cost-effective tasks, such as malware analysis, which is either already automated (50%), or is planned to become so in the next three years (56%).

Only 35% of respondents, however, think that automation will reduce the headcount of their cybersecurity function: 40% even expect an increased need for hires with more advanced technical skills.

“Within just one year, the perspective around adoption of automated technologies has notably shifted among cybersecurity professionals,” said Dr. Larry Ponemon, chairman and founder of the Ponemon Institute. “Contrary to the popular belief that the rise of automation will threaten the job market, organizations now feel these technologies will help ease the current strain on resources, and offer the potential to promote job security for highly skilled staff, while strengthening cybersecurity defenses.”

UK and US respondents were much more confident that automation will improve their cybersecurity staff’s ability to do their job (59% and 65% of respondents, respectively) than APAC respondents (48%), who were also more likely to distrust AI as a cybersecurity tool (37% of respondents, compared to 31% in the UK and 24% in the US).

Asia Pacific Ahead in Cybersecurity Skills Availability 

Skills shortages also seemed to be lower in the APAC region (67%) compared to the UK (70%) and the US (78%), perhaps partially explaining the different level of reliance and trust on automation and AI across regions.

At the same time, the survey reported that 40% of respondents expect an increased need for hires with more advanced technical skills, aligning especially in Asia Pacific where governments and educational institutions are already accelerating specialized cybersecurity programs and initiatives, such as the ASEAN-Singapore Cybersecurity Centre of Excellence announced during the Asean Ministerial Conference on Cybersecurity (AMCC) in September 2018, where ASEAN nations are adopting a rules-based approach to regional cybersecurity frameworks. ASEAN, or the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, is a ten-nation group comprised of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Of those respondents who said AI is trusted as a security tool in their organizations, the majority listed staff shortages as the main reason why their enterprise has adopted the solution (53%).

“The results of the survey reveal that, overall, cybersecurity professionals are confident that automation will make their workload more manageable and will increase the accuracy of certain tasks, without jeopardizing their job security”, says Corin Imai, senior security advisor at DomainTools. “Although there are geographical differences in the level of confidence placed in AI and automation as cybersecurity tools, the reasons that motivate their adoption – relieving overworked teams, preventing downtime and business disruptions, reducing threats created by operating in the global digital economy, etc. – seem to be consistent across regions, suggesting that goals and expectations are aligned for organizations across the globe.”

Download the “Staffing the IT Security Function in the Age of Automation” study at:
https://www.domaintools.com/resources/survey-reports/2019-ponemon-survey-report-staffing-the-it-security-function

For additional information on DomainTools and its suite of products, visit: https://www.domaintools.com/.

Methodology
The study, Staffing the IT Security Function in the Age of Automation, conducted by the Ponemon Institute on behalf of DomainTools, analyzes how companies are addressing the problem of attracting and retaining IT security practitioners and the impact automation and artificial intelligence (AI) will have on staffing. More than 1,400 IT and IT security practitioners in the US, UK and Asia Pacific who participate in attracting, hiring, promoting and retaining IT security personnel within their companies were surveyed. The report can be downloaded here and the full data is available by request.

About DomainTools
DomainTools helps security analysts turn threat data into threat intelligence. We take indicators from your network, including domains and IPs, and connect them with nearly every active domain on the Internet. Those connections inform risk assessments, help profile attackers, guide online fraud investigations, and map cyber activity to attacker infrastructure. Fortune 1000 companies, global government agencies, and leading security solution vendors use the DomainTools platform as a critical ingredient in their threat investigation and mitigation work. Learn more about how to connect the dots on malicious activity at https://www.domaintools.com/ or follow us on Twitter: @domaintools.

About Ponemon Institute
Ponemon Institute© is dedicated to advancing responsible information and privacy management practices in business and government. To achieve this objective, the Institute conducts independent research, educates leaders from the private and public sectors and verifies the privacy and data protection practices of organizations in a variety of industries.

###