发表于

编者简介:自1970年代以来一直是一名程序员,涉猎BASIC,然后涉猎Fortran和C,后来又涉足网络语言的字母表,我知道编程。 但是,我还没有被诱使成为一名专业程序员并以此为生。 在互联网的第一波浪潮中,我确实成为了网络安全开发人员,并与一位朋友共同开发了电子邮件安全服务器设备。 但是,那不是我的电话。 快进到21世纪,现在有些人在日常工作和“白帽”道德黑客角色之间徘徊,有些人甚至赚了XNUMX万,并且半退休。 可以是你吗? 供应商的新闻发布如下。

黑客通过HackerOne获得创纪录的100亿美元收入

领先的黑客驱动安全平台揭示了全球黑客社区,发现了170,000个漏洞,从而改变了组织进行安全防护的方式

新加坡,@mcgallen #mcirowireinfo,28年2020月XNUMX日 — HackerOne, 由黑客驱动的第一大安全平台,今天宣布,黑客通过在HackerOne平台上进行永久性黑客攻击,已经获得了100亿美元的漏洞赏金。 赏金(即赏金)是给予黑客的金钱奖励,该黑客发现并向组织报告了有效的安全漏洞,以便可以安全地加以解决。 仅在过去一年中就获得了将近一半的赏金收入,这个创纪录的里程碑展示了世界上最大的黑客社区如何满足我们日益互联的社会日益增长的安全需求。

从30,000年2013月向全球黑客支付的5.9美元(即HackerOne赏金的第一个月)到2020年XNUMX月向黑客支付的XNUMX万美元,与黑客合作已被证明是查明数字资产漏洞的一种有效方法不仅仅是过去的时间。 这是一个职业。

HackerOne联合创始人Jobert Abma和Michiel Prins解释说:“我们从荷兰的一对黑客开始,就疯狂地相信,像我们这样的黑客可以使组织更安全,并且比传统方法更有效,更具成本效益。” 博客文章 关于里程碑。 “ 100亿美元的悬赏金之后,也许这个主意毕竟不是那么疯狂。 感谢所有一次使互联网变得更安全的漏洞的黑客。 黑客是在这里造福人类,造福于我们所有人。”

不断增长的道德黑客社区的积极力量汇集了我们对数据泄露的防御,减少了网络犯罪,保护了隐私,并恢复了对我们数字社会的信任。 这次迈向100亿美元旅程的重点包括:

  • 84年: 每小时注册该平台的新黑客数量
  • 6,000美元: 每小时在平台上支付的赏金数量
  • 214%: 联邦政府黑客驱动的安全性逐年增长
  • 85.6%: 赏金总额同比增长,自17.5月以来增加了XNUMX% COVID-19 被宣布为大流行病。
  • 343%: 过去一年,Hacker101上的注册人数有所增加,这是HackerOne针对有抱负的黑客提供的免费在线课程。
  • 38%: 自二月份以来,Hacker101的平均每周新注册人数增加 COVID-19 被宣布为大流行病。
  • 超过170,000岁;:在近2,000个客户程序中发现了许多黑客漏洞

HackerOne首席执行官Marten Mickos说:“我们正在建立一个社区,能够测试和审查我们数字化连接文明的每个方面。” “ 100亿美元的数字吸引了最优秀的黑客,为公司和政府提供了无与伦比的ROI,大大降低了数据泄露的风险。 如果您没有办法从道德黑客那里获得有用的信息,那么我们就到达了历史的起点,在此您无知和疏忽。 在这个不断发展的威胁的新世界中,取得成功的唯一方法就是变得透明。 开放而不是保密是前进的道路。”

早在2017年,Mickos 都曾预测 到100年底,HackerOne上的黑客社区将增长到2020万,并获得XNUMX亿美元的赏金。随着XNUMX万个人中有超过四分之三的人报名参加永久性黑客活动,我们正朝着成功的方向迈进超出了这些期望。 Mickos分享了对未来的以下预测:

  • HackerOne社区产生了杰出的安全专家,以填补行业的人才缺口。 在未来15年内,我们预计将在我们的黑客队伍中培养出500多名首席信息安全官(CISO)。 这些熟练且有进取心的人将帮助减少主要商业企业和政府机构的网络风险。
  • 五年内,黑客将在HackerOne上获得1亿美元的漏洞赏金。

精英黑客Frans Rosen反映:“我最喜欢的亮点绝对是与另一边的人的互动,以及对我发现的一些错误的反应。” “当公司的CISO在深夜打电话给我,以了解他的影响时的严重性和恐慌。 当我制作一个小游戏来显示错误的影响时,公司回应说:“这是有史以来最好的游戏,我们整天都在办公室里玩。” 在实时黑客事件中,当您提交一个非常严重的错误时,公司团队随后将在整个会议室进行填充,以准确了解发生了什么。 我为自己的反应而奋斗,因为我了解自己能得到同样的报告。

每天每一分钟,全球的黑客和公司齐心协力,以增强安全性。 企业一直在寻求增长:扩展到新市场,交付新产品和服务,增加客户,发布移动产品,处理新的付款方式,增加Web资产等等。 而且每次他们这样做时,都会在攻击面上添加新的一层。

通过与愿意合作的组织合作,可信任的黑客是任何安全团队的延伸,并且比其本国的软件工程师所赚取的收入高出36%。 对于公司而言,与最大,最活跃的黑客社区合作可以使他们以有效和经济高效的方式主动采取安全策略。

“ Dropbox的第一要务是确保客户数据的安全,我们已经在HackerOne上寻求全球安全研究社区的支持,以不断验证我们平台的安全性,” Dropbox的安全主管Justin Berman说。 “我们有一个行业领先的漏洞披露程序,可以保护道德研究人员,并与HackerOne合作,将敏感的供应商纳入我们的漏洞赏金计划范围,以帮助保护我们的整个生态系统。 我们希望像我们这样的漏洞赏金计划继续带头发挥协作和透明性的文化,对整个网络安全有利。”

对于我们的创始人对这一里程碑以及获得100亿美元奖金的旅程的思考,请阅读他们的更多内容。 新闻。 首席执行官Marten Mickos还分享了他对该行业的分析以及由黑客提供的安全性的发展趋势。 点击此处。 有关Dropbox之类的组织如何与黑客合作以保护其攻击面的更多信息,请访问我们的网站。 新闻.

关于HackerOne

HackerOne是第一名 黑客驱动的安全平台,帮助组织发现并修复关键漏洞,然后加以利用。 与其他任何由黑客提供支持的安全性替代方案相比,有更多的《财富》 500强和《福布斯》全球1000强公司信任HackerOne。 拥有近2,000个客户计划,包括美国国防部,通用汽车,谷歌,高盛,贝宝,凯悦,Twitter,GitHub,任天堂,汉莎航空,微软,MINDEF新加坡,松下航空电子,高通,星巴克,Dropbox和英特尔, HackerOne已帮助发现了170,000多个漏洞,并奖励了超过100亿美元 bug赏金 越来越多的社区中,有四分之三的百万黑客。 HackerOne总部位于旧金山,在伦敦,纽约,荷兰,法国和新加坡设有办事处,是一家快速公司 2020年全球最具创新力的公司.

###

Fancy becoming a white-hat ethical hacker and making a career out of it?

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Editor’s brief: Having been a programmer since the 1970s, dabbling with BASIC, then Fortran and C, and later on the alphabet soup of web languages, I know programming. However, I have not been enticed to become a professional programmer and make a living out of it. In the first wave of the Internet, I did become a cybersecurity developer, and co-developed an email security server appliance with a friend. However, that was not my calling. Fast forward to the 21st century, and now there are folks who straddle between day jobs and a “white-hat” ethical hacking role on the side, and some have even made a million out of it and suitably semi-retired. Could this be you? The vendor’s news release is below.

Hackers Earn Record-Breaking US$100 Million on HackerOne

Leading hacker-powered security platform reveals the global community of hackers uncovered 170,000 vulnerabilities, changing the way organisations do security

SINGAPORE, @mcgallen #mcirowireinfo, May 28, 2020 — HackerOne, the number one hacker-powered security platform, today announced that hackers have earned US$100 Million in bug bounties by hacking for good on the HackerOne platform. A bounty — or bug bounty — is a monetary award given to a hacker who finds and reports a valid security weakness to an organisation so it can be safely resolved. With nearly half of bounty earnings awarded in the past year alone, this record-breaking milestone showcases how the world’s largest hacker community is addressing the growing security needs of our increasingly interconnected society.

From US$30,000 paid to hackers across the globe in October 2013 — the first month of bounty payments on HackerOne — to US$5.9 million paid to hackers in April 2020, working with hackers has proven to be both a powerful way to pinpoint vulnerabilities across digital assets and more than just a past-time. It’s a career.

“We started out as a couple hackers in the Netherlands with a crazy belief that hackers like us could make organisations safer and do it more efficiently and cost-effectively than traditional approaches,” explained HackerOne co-founders Jobert Abma and Michiel Prins in their blog post about the milestone. “US$100 Million in bounties later, maybe this idea isn’t so crazy after all. Thank you to all the hackers who have made the internet safer one vulnerability at a time. Hacking is here for good, for the good of all of us.”

The positive power of a growing community of ethical hackers pools our defences against data breaches, reduces cybercrime, protects privacy, and restores trust in our digital society. Highlights from this journey to US$100M include:

  • 84: The number of new hackers that sign up to the platform every hour
  • US$6,000: The amount of bounties paid out on the platform every hour
  • 214%: Year-over-year hacker-powered security growth in the federal government
  • 85.6%: The year over year growth in total bounty payments, with 17.5% increase since February when COVID-19 was declared a pandemic.
  • 343%: The increase in signups over the past year on Hacker101 — HackerOne’s free online classes for aspiring hackers.
  • 38%: The increase in average weekly new registrants for Hacker101 since February, when COVID-19 was declared a pandemic.
  • Over 170,000: The number of vulnerabilities hackers have uncovered in nearly 2,000 customer programs

“We are building a community able to test and vet every piece of our digital connected civilisation,” said HackerOne CEO Marten Mickos. “US$100 Million is a number that attracts the best hackers, providing companies and governments unmatched ROI, significantly reducing the risk of data breach. We have arrived at the point in history where you are ignorant and negligent if you do not have a way to receive useful input from ethical hackers. In this new world of ever-evolving threats, the only way to get ahead is to get transparent. Openness, not secrecy, is the way forward.”

Back in 2017, Mickos predicted the community of hackers on HackerOne would grow to one million strong and would have earned US$100 Million in bounties by the end of 2020. With over three quarters of a million individuals signed up to hack for good, we’re well on our way to exceeding these expectations. Mickos shared the following predictions for the future:

  • The HackerOne community produces outstanding security experts to fill the talent gap in the industry. Within the next 15 years, we expect to have produced over 500 Chief Information Security Officers (CISOs) out of our hacker ranks. These skilled and motivated people will help reduce cyber risk in key commercial enterprises and government agencies.
  • Hackers will earn US$1 billion in bug bounties within five years on HackerOne.

“Some of my favorite highlights are absolutely the interactions with the people on the other side, and reactions to some of the bugs I’ve found,” reflected elite hacker Frans Rosen. “When the CISO of a company calls me up in the middle of the night to understand the severity and panics when he realises the impact. When I build a little game to show the impact of a bug and the company responds with “this is the best game ever, we’ve played it all day in the office.” On live hacking events, when you submit a really critical bug and the team of the company fills the room afterwards to understand exactly what happened. I live for the reactions since I understand myself how I would feel to get the same kind of report myself.”

Every minute of every day, hackers and companies across the globe come together to enhance security. Businesses are constantly seeking to grow: expanding into new markets, shipping new products and services, adding customers, releasing mobile offerings, processing new forms of payment, increasing web assets, and so on. And every time they do, they add a new layer to their attack surface.

By partnering with willing organisations, trusted hackers are an extension of any security team and earn up to 36% more than they would as a software engineer in their home country. For companies, working with the largest, most active community of hackers allows them to be proactive about their security strategy in an efficient and cost effective way.

“Our first priority at Dropbox is the safety of our customers’ data, and we’ve looked to the global security research community on HackerOne to validate the security of our platform continuously,” said Justin Berman, Head of Security at Dropbox. “We have an industry-leading vulnerability disclosure program that protects ethical researchers and partnered with HackerOne to include sensitive vendors in the scope of our bug bounty program to help protect our entire ecosystem. Our hope is that bug bounty programs like ours continue to spearhead a culture of collaboration and transparency that benefits cybersecurity as a whole.”

For our founders’ reflections on this milestone and the journey to US$100 Million in bounties, read more in their blog. CEO Marten Mickos also shares his analysis of the industry and what is to come for hacker-powered security, available here. And for more about how organisations like Dropbox are working with hackers hacking for good to secure their attack surface, visit our blog.

About HackerOne

HackerOne is the #1 hacker-powered security platform, helping organisations find and fix critical vulnerabilities before they can be exploited. More Fortune 500 and Forbes Global 1000 companies trust HackerOne than any other hacker-powered security alternative. With nearly 2,000 customer programs, including The U.S. Department of Defense, General Motors, Google, Goldman Sachs, PayPal, Hyatt, Twitter, GitHub, Nintendo, Lufthansa, Microsoft, MINDEF Singapore, Panasonic Avionics, Qualcomm, Starbucks, Dropbox, and Intel, HackerOne has helped to find over 170,000 vulnerabilities and award over US$100M in bug bounties to a growing community of three quarters of a million hackers. HackerOne is headquartered in San Francisco with offices in London, New York, the Netherlands, France and Singapore and is a Fast Company World’s Most Innovative Companies for 2020.

###