发表于

新加坡,@mcgallen#microwire信息,19年2019月XNUMX日– Synopsys,Inc. (纳斯达克: SNPS)今天发布 BSIMM10,最新版本的建筑物安全性成熟度模型(BSIMM),旨在帮助组织计划,执行,完善和评估其软件安全性计划(SSI)。 在过去的十年中,Synopsys在450家公司中使用了近185次BSIMM,并且第十次迭代反映了在10家公司中观察到的软件安全活动。 BSIMM122还重点介绍了DevOps对软件安全性计划的影响,新一波的工程驱动的安全性工作的兴起以及公司如何在软件安全性成熟度的三个阶段中前进。 要下载报告,请访问 www.bsim.com/download.html.


“自2008年以来,BSIMM一直是了解各种规模和规模的组织(包括世界上最先进的安全团队)如何执行其软件安全策略的有效工具,”企业信息主管Jim Routh说道。 MassMutual的风险管理。 “当前的BSIMM数据反映了有多少组织正在调整其方法来应对现代开发和部署实践的新动态,例如更短的发布周期,更多的自动化使用和软件定义的基础架构。”

BSIMM10描述了7,900名软件安全专业人员的工作,他们的工作指导并最大化了将近470,000开发人员在173,000多个应用程序上的安全工作。 BSIMM10代表行业垂直领域的公司,包括金融服务,高科技,独立软件供应商(ISV),云,医疗保健,物联网(IoT),保险和零售。

BSIMM10研究的主要发现:

  • DevOps对软件安全性的影响: BSIMM数据显示,DevOps的发展以及持续集成和持续交付(CI / CD)工具的采用正在影响公司处理软件安全性的方式。 BSIMM增加了三个新活动,可以看出这一点,这些活动反映了公司如何积极致力于自动化安全活动,以使其业务向市场交付功能的速度与之匹配。 BSIMM10还包括更新的描述和现有活动的示例,以反映它们如何作为现代DevOps组织的一部分进行实施。
  • 工程驱动的安全文化新潮流: BSIMM10是第一项正式反映SSI文化变化的研究,在新一波的工程主导的软件安全工作浪潮中观察到,BSIMMXNUMX源于开发和运营团队的自下而上,而不是集中式软件安全小组的自上而下。 在一些组织中,以工程为主导的安全文化克服了建立和发展有意义的软件安全工作的艰辛。 工程驱动的新安全文化浪潮正在出现,以响应现代软件交付实践(如敏捷和DevOps)的需求以及与现有SSI的不希望有的摩擦。
  • 公司使用BSIMM来导航他们的软件安全历程: BSIMM10是第一版,它定义了SSI成熟度的三个阶段(新兴,成熟,优化),并描述了不同公司通常如何通过它们发展。 BSIMM数据显示,随着时间的推移,组织将显着改善,许多组织都达到了一定的成熟度,他们专注于所进行活动的深度,广度和规模,而不是总是努力进行更多活动。

Synopsys首席科学家Sammy Migues说:“领导一个有效的软件安全计划是一项挑战,而DevOps和CI / CD带来的巨大技术和组织变革并没有使这项任务变得更加容易。 “作为一种不断发展以反映全球数百个软件安全小组的经验的工具,无论您是刚刚开始旅程,寻求优化程序还是应对新挑战,BSIMM及其社区都是宝贵的资源。 。”

BSIMM包括从已建立实际SSI的公司收集的数据,量化了119种活动的发生,以显示许多计划共有的共同点以及使每个计划独特的变化。 BSIMM数据显示,高度成熟的计划是全面的,在该模型描述的所有12种实践中都开展了许多活动。 组织可以使用BSIMM比较计划,并确定哪些其他活动可能对支持其总体战略有用。

致谢
Synopsys的首席科学家Sammy Migues,Synopsys的常务董事Michael Ware和ZeroNorth的首席技术官John Steven都是BSIMM10的作者,他对过去11年的软件安全性研究收集的数据进行了分析。 参与BSIMM研究的一些公司包括:Adobe,Aetna,阿里巴巴,Ally Bank,Amadeus,Amgen,Autodesk,Axway,美国银行,Betfair,BMO金融集团,Black Duck Software,Black Knight Financial Services,Box,加拿大帝国商业银行,第一资本,城市国家银行,思科,花旗集团,公民银行,美国银行,大华,存款信托与清算公司,礼来,Ellucian,Experian,F-Secure,Fannie Mae,Fidelity,房地美,一般电气,Genetec,全球支付,HCA Healthcare,Highmark Health Solutions,Horizo​​n Healthcare Services,汇丰,iPipeline,强生,摩根大通公司,联想,LGE,McKesson,Medtronic,Morntronic,Navient,NCR,NetApp,News Corp ,NVIDIA,PayPal,首席金融集团,加拿大皇家银行,科学游戏,Synopsys软件完整性集团,TD Ameritrade,家得宝,先锋集团,Trainline,特灵,美国银行,Veritas,Verizon,Wells Fargo和Zendesk。

关于BSIMM
从2008年开始,成熟的建筑物安全模型(BSIMM)是一种用于评估和评估软件安全计划的工具。 BSIMM是通过仔细研究和分析软件安全性计划而开发的数据驱动模型和度量工具,它包含来自120多个组织的真实数据。 BSIMM是一个开放标准,其中包括基于软件安全性实践的框架,组织可以使用该框架来评估自己在软件安全性方面的工作。 有关更多信息,请访问 www.bsim.com.

关于Synopsys软件完整性小组 
Synopsys软件完整性小组可帮助开发团队构建安全,高质量的软件,在最大程度提高速度和生产力的同时最大程度地降低风险。 Synopsys是应用程序安全性领域公认的领导者,它提供静态分析,软件组成分析和动态分析解决方案,使团队可以快速查找和修复专有代码,开源组件和应用程序行为中的漏洞和缺陷。 借助行业领先的工具,服务和专业知识的组合,只有Synopsys才能帮助组织在DevSecOps和整个软件开发生命周期中优化安全性和质量。 了解更多 https://www.synopsys.com/software.

关于Synopsys
Synopsys公司(纳斯达克股票代码:SNPS)是Silicon to Software™的合作伙伴,为创新公司开发我们每天依赖的电子产品和软件应用程序。 作为全球第15大软件公司,Synopsys在电子设计自动化(EDA)和半导体IP领域处于全球领导者的悠久历史,并且在软件安全性和质量解决方案方面的领导地位也在不断提高。 无论您是创建高级半导体的片上系统(SoC)设计人员,还是编写要求最高安全性和质量的应用程序的软件开发人员,Synopsys都能提供交付创新,高质量,安全产品所需的解决方案。 了解更多 https://www.synopsys.com/.

###

Synopsys Releases BSIMM10 Study Highlighting Impact of DevOps on Software Security

20171108_synopsys_coverityfeat

Singapore, @mcgallen #microwireinfo, September 19, 2019 – Synopsys, Inc. (Nasdaq: SNPS) today released BSIMM10, the latest version of the Building Security In Maturity Model (BSIMM), designed to help organisations plan, execute, mature, and measure their software security initiatives (SSIs). Synopsys has used the BSIMM nearly 450 times across 185 firms over the past decade, and this 10th iteration reflects software security activities observed across 122 firms. BSIMM10 also highlights the impact of DevOps on software security initiatives, the emergence of a new wave of engineering-driven security efforts, and how firms progress through three phases of software security maturity. To download the report, visit www.bsimm.com/download.html.


“Since 2008, the BSIMM has served as an effective tool for understanding how organisations of all shapes and sizes, including some of the most advanced security teams in the world, are executing their software security strategies,” said Jim Routh, Head of Enterprise Information Risk Management at MassMutual. “The current BSIMM data reflect how many organisations are adapting their approaches to address the new dynamics of modern development and deployment practices, such as shorter release cycles, increased use of automation, and software-defined infrastructure.”

BSIMM10 describes the work of 7,900 software security professionals whose efforts guide and maximise the security efforts of nearly 470,000 developers working on more than 173,000 applications. BSIMM10 represents firms in industry verticals including financial services, high tech, independent software vendors (ISVs), cloud, healthcare, Internet of Things (IoT), insurance, and retail.

Key findings from the BSIMM10 study:

  • DevOps’ impact on software security: The BSIMM data show that the DevOps movement and the adoption of continuous integration and continuous delivery (CI/CD) tooling are affecting the way that firms approach software security. This is seen in the BSIMM’s addition of three new activities that reflect how firms are actively working to automate security activities to match the speed at which their business delivers functionality to market. BSIMM10 also includes updated descriptions and examples of existing activities to reflect how they are being implemented as part of modern DevOps organisations.
  • The new wave of engineering-driven security culture: BSIMM10 is the first study to formally reflect changes in SSI culture, observed in a new wave of engineering-led software security efforts originating bottom-up in development and operations teams rather than top-down from a centralised software security group. In some organisations, an engineering-led security culture has overcome its struggle to establish and grow meaningful software security efforts. This new wave of engineering-driven security culture is emerging in response to both the demands of modern software delivery practices such as Agile and DevOps and undesirable friction with existing SSIs.
  • Firms use the BSIMM to navigate their software security journey: BSIMM10 is the first edition to define three phases of SSI maturity — emerging, maturing, optimising— and describe how different firms typically progress through them. The BSIMM data show that organisations improve demonstrably over time, and many achieve a level of maturity where they focus on the depth, breadth, and scale of the activities they’re conducting rather than always striving for more activities.

“Leading an effective software security initiative is challenging, and the dramatic technological and organisational shifts brought on by DevOps and CI/CD are not making that task easier,” said Sammy Migues, Principal Scientist at Synopsys. “As a tool that constantly evolves to reflect the experiences of hundreds of software security groups around the world, the BSIMM and its community are invaluable resources, whether you’re just beginning your journey, looking to optimise your program, or grappling with new challenges.”

The BSIMM includes data collected from firms that have established real SSIs, quantifying the occurrence of 119 activities to show the common ground shared by many initiatives as well as the variations that make each initiative unique. The BSIMM data show that high-maturity initiatives are well-rounded, carrying out numerous activities in all 12 of the practices described by the model. Organisations can use the BSIMM to compare initiatives and determine which additional activities might be useful to support their overall strategies.

Acknowledgments
Sammy Migues, Principal Scientist at Synopsys, Michael Ware, Managing Principal at Synopsys, and John Steven, Chief Technology Officer at ZeroNorth, authored BSIMM10 after analysing data collected over the past 11 years of software security research. Some of the companies participating in the BSIMM study include: Adobe, Aetna, Alibaba, Ally Bank, Amadeus, Amgen, Autodesk, Axway, Bank of America, Betfair, BMO Financial Group, Black Duck Software, Black Knight Financial Services, Box, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, Capital One, City National Bank, Cisco, Citigroup, Citizens Bank, Comerica Bank, Dahua, Depository Trust & Clearing Corporation, Eli Lilly, Ellucian, Experian, F-Secure, Fannie Mae, Fidelity, Freddie Mac, General Electric, Genetec, Global Payments, HCA Healthcare, Highmark Health Solutions, Horizon Healthcare Services, HSBC, iPipeline, Johnson & Johnson, JPMorgan Chase & Co., Lenovo, LGE, McKesson, Medtronic, Morningstar, Navient, NCR, NetApp, News Corp, NVIDIA, PayPal, Principal Financial Group, Royal Bank of Canada, Scientific Games, Synopsys Software Integrity Group, TD Ameritrade, The Home Depot, The Vanguard Group, Trainline, Trane, U.S. Bank, Veritas, Verizon, Wells Fargo, and Zendesk.

About the BSIMM
Started in 2008, the Building Security In Maturity Model (BSIMM) is a tool for measuring and evaluating software security initiatives. A data-driven model and measurement tool developed through the careful study and analysis of software security initiatives, the BSIMM includes real-world data from more than 120 organisations. The BSIMM is an open standard that includes a framework based on software security practices, which an organisation can use to assess its own efforts in software security. For more information, visit www.bsimm.com.

About the Synopsys Software Integrity Group 
Synopsys Software Integrity Group helps development teams build secure, high-quality software, minimising risks while maximising speed and productivity. Synopsys, a recognised leader in application security, provides static analysis, software composition analysis, and dynamic analysis solutions that enable teams to quickly find and fix vulnerabilities and defects in proprietary code, open source components, and application behavior. With a combination of industry-leading tools, services, and expertise, only Synopsys helps organisations optimise security and quality in DevSecOps and throughout the software development life cycle. Learn more at https://www.synopsys.com/software.

About Synopsys
Synopsys, Inc. (Nasdaq: SNPS) is the Silicon to Software™ partner for innovative companies developing the electronic products and software applications we rely on every day. As the world’s 15th largest software company, Synopsys has a long history of being a global leader in electronic design automation (EDA) and semiconductor IP and is also growing its leadership in software security and quality solutions. Whether you’re a system-on-chip (SoC) designer creating advanced semiconductors, or a software developer writing applications that require the highest security and quality, Synopsys has the solutions needed to deliver innovative, high-quality, secure products. Learn more at https://www.synopsys.com/.

###