发表于

就在前几天,我对 防火墙 小型企业防火墙,并向我自己的同事展示。 我告诉她这是中小型企业的防火墙,她笑着说:“来吧,你受骗了吗? 那是一个玩具,不能是防火墙。”

Firewalla防火墙设备-实物拍摄
Firewalla防火墙设备–截图

Firewalla设备是具有广告阻止(adblock),DDNS,VPN,IPv6,社交时间设置,色情内容阻止,家庭安全模式等的防火墙。

防火墙防火墙设备
防火墙防火墙设备

该界面是通过iOS或Android应用程序进行的,设置过程大约花了我一(1)分钟或更短的时间-没开玩笑。

现实情况是,当商业互联网首次商业化时,我的澳大利亚同事和我在墨尔本的人正在开发诸如防火墙和电子邮件安全服务器设备之类的产品(仍然拥有商标)。 然后,我们开发的最小的设备是使用运行BSD Unix的现成的低功耗嵌入式PC,其大小与平装小说的大小相同(按当时的标准来说很小)。 现在,固态存储(SSD)和低功耗CPU很小,足以轻松放入火柴盒或尺寸更小的设备中。

技术使我们拥有了最小的设备可能已经拥有某些最强大功能的能力。 环顾四周,我们口袋里有一个40百万像素F0.95相机(华为Mate 20 Pro),我们掌上的超级计算机(任何现代智能手机,例如Apple iPhone 或三星 星系,或Huawei Mate或Pro系列),甚至是火柴盒大小的安全设备。

这是一些配置屏幕,以显示Firewalla的简单程度:

MicroBriefly: The tiniest firewall I have seen – Firewalla

Firewalla firewall appliance

Just the other day, I unboxed the Firewalla small business firewall and showed to my colleague, who is a geek herself. I told her this is a firewall for SMBs and she laughed and said, “come on, you got conned right? That is a toy, and can’t be a firewall.”

Firewalla firewall appliance - box shot
Firewalla firewall appliance – box shot

The Firewalla device is a firewall with ad blocking (adblock), DDNS, VPN, IPv6, social hour settings, porn blocking, family-safe mode and more.

Firewalla firewall appliance
Firewalla firewall appliance

The interface is via an iOS or Android app, and setup took me about ONE (1) minute or less – no kidding.

The reality is when commercial Internet first become commercially available, my Australian colleague and I in Melbourne were developing stuff like this, firewalls and email security server appliances (still hold a trademark on one). Then, the smallest we devrloped were using off-the-shelf low power embedded PCs running BSD Unix, and about the size of a paperback novel (small by standards of those days). Now, solid state storage (SSD) and low power CPUs are tiny, enough to easily fit in a matchbox or lighter sized device.

Technology has empowered us to the point where the smallest devices may already harbor some of the most powerful capabilities. Look around us, a 40-megapixel F0.95 camera in our pocket (Huawei Mate 20 Pro), a supercomputer in our palm (any of the modern smartphones such as the Apple iPhone or Samsung Galaxy, or Huawei Mate or Pro series), and now, even security appliances the size of matchboxes.

Here are some configuration screens to show how simple the Firewalla is: