發佈於

編者簡報:網絡釣魚越來越猖獗,一些品牌名列榜首,因為詐騙者試圖誘騙消費者洩露他們的個人和訪問詳細信息。 例如,DHL 等品牌在網絡釣魚嘗試中經常被詐騙者模仿,因為許多消費者確實從海外購買產品,並且跟踪他們的購買情況很常見。 Check Point Software2 年第二季度的品牌網絡釣魚報告列出了被偽造的頂級品牌。 供應商的版本如下。

LinkedIn 在網絡釣魚嘗試中仍然是第一品牌,而微軟在第二季度報告中的排名飆升至第二

Check Point Research 發布其第二季度品牌網絡釣魚報告,重點介紹了網絡犯罪分子最常模仿以誘騙人們放棄個人數據的品牌

新加坡 @mcgallen #microwire資訊,20年2022月XNUMX日– Check Point Research(CPR),美國威脅情報部門 CheckPoint®軟件技術有限公司 (納斯達克股票代碼:CHKP)和全球領先的網絡安全解決方案提供商發布了 2 年第二季度的品牌網絡釣魚報告。該報告重點介紹了網絡犯罪分子最常模仿的品牌,以試圖竊取個人的個人信息或支付憑證。季度。

社交媒體平台LinkedIn在第一季度首次進入排名後,繼續保持最被模仿品牌的地位。 雖然其份額略有下降; 從第一季度的 1% 下降到第二季度所有網絡釣魚嘗試的 52%,這仍然是一個令人擔憂的趨勢,突顯了可信社交媒體平台用戶面臨的持續風險。 社交網絡通常仍然是被模仿最多的類別,其次是技術,本季度,該技術在航運業中佔據第二位。

被利用的技術家喻戶曉的公司中最顯著的增長是微軟,佔所有品牌網絡釣魚嘗試的 13%,是上一季度的兩倍多,並將 DHL 以 12% 的比例排在第三位。 一些進入前 10 名的新品牌包括:阿迪達斯、Adobe 和匯豐銀行,儘管這些品牌的數據均處於低個位數,但這些品牌將在第三季度受到研究人員的密切關注,以了解任何進展。

微軟相關詐騙的使用增加對個人和組織都是危險的。 一旦有人掌握了您的帳戶登錄詳細信息,他們就可以訪問其背後的所有應用程序,例如 Teams 和 SharePoint,以及您的 Outlook 電子郵件帳戶受到威脅的明顯風險。 該報告重點介紹了一個 Outlook 網絡釣魚電子郵件的具體示例,該電子郵件誘使用戶訪問欺詐性 Outlook 網頁,其主題行是:“[需要採取行動]最終提醒 - 立即驗證您的 OWA 帳戶”,要求受害者輸入他們的登錄憑據。

基於 LinkedIn 的網絡釣魚活動模仿專業社交媒體平台的通信方式,使用惡意電子郵件使用以下主題:“你本週出現了 8 次搜索”或“你有一條新消息”或“我想和你做生意”通過領英。” 儘管看起來來自 LinkedIn,但他們使用的電子郵件地址與該品牌的電子郵件地址完全不同。

同時,隨著在線購物的持續趨勢,2 季度航運公司 DHL 在所有網絡釣魚攻擊中的 12% 被偽造也就不足為奇了。 該報告特別提到了一個與跟踪相關的網絡釣魚詐騙,主題為“收貨通知”,誘使消費者點擊惡意鏈接。

“網絡釣魚電子郵件是每個黑客武器庫中的重要工具,因為它們部署速度快,並且可以以相對較低的成本瞄準數百萬用戶,”數據研究組經理 Omer Dembinsky 說 Check Point Software. “它們讓網絡犯罪分子有機會利用可信賴品牌的聲譽,給用戶一種虛假的安全感,這種安全感可被用來竊取個人或商業信息以獲取經濟利益。

“犯罪分子將使用任何具有足夠影響力和消費者信任的品牌。 因此,我們看到黑客擴大了他們的活動,阿迪達斯、Adobe 和匯豐銀行首次出現在前 10 名中。黑客利用我們對這些品牌的信任以及對“交易”的人性本能進行交易。 黑客繼續使用基於品牌的網絡釣魚是有原因的。 有用。 因此,消費者需要謹慎行事,並留意虛假電子郵件的跡象,例如語法錯誤、拼寫錯誤或奇怪的域名。 如果有疑問,請前往該品牌自己的網站,而不是點擊任何鏈接。”

品牌網絡釣魚攻擊不僅利用我們對熟悉品牌的隱含信任,採用通常使用相似 URL 的品牌形象,還利用人類情緒,例如害怕錯過折扣。 這造成的緊迫感導致消費者在沒有首先檢查電子郵件是否來自相關品牌的情況下匆忙點擊。 這可能導致他們無意中下載惡意軟件或交出寶貴的個人身份信息,從而使犯罪分子能夠訪問他們的整個在線世界並造成潛在的經濟損失。

2年第四季度頂級網絡釣魚品牌

以下是在網絡釣魚嘗試中按整體外觀排名的頂級品牌:

  1. 領英(45%)
  2. 微軟 (13%)
  3. DHL(12%)
  4. 亞馬遜(9%)
  5. 蘋果 (3%)
  6. 阿迪達斯 (2%)
  7. 谷歌(1%)
  8. Netflix(1%)
  9. Adobe (1%)
  10. 匯豐銀行 (1%)

LinkedIn 網絡釣魚電子郵件 - 帳戶盜竊示例

在 2 年第二季度,我們觀察到一封使用 LinkedIn 品牌的惡意網絡釣魚電子郵件。 網絡釣魚電子郵件是從一個網絡郵件地址發送的,並被偽裝成好像是從“LinkedIn Security”發送的。 該電子郵件包含主題“LinkedIn 通知!!!”,其內容(參見圖 2022)試圖以更新其 LinkedIn 帳戶版本為幌子誘使受害者單擊惡意鏈接。 此點擊將指向該鏈接,然後受害者需要在該鏈接中輸入他們的 LinkedIn 帳戶信息(參見圖 1)。

20220720_chkp_image1
圖1:主題為“LinkedIn Notice!!!”的惡意郵件
20220720_chkp_2
圖 2:驗證 LinkedIn 帳戶信息的欺詐頁面

DHL 網絡釣魚電子郵件 - 帳戶盜竊示例

在 2022 年第二季度,我們觀察到一封使用 DHL 品牌的惡意網絡釣魚電子郵件。 該網絡釣魚電子郵件是從一個網絡郵件地址發送的,並被偽裝成好像是從“DHL EXPRESS”發送的。 該郵件的主題為“Incoming Shipment Notification”,內容(見圖3)試圖說服受害者點擊惡意鏈接。 然後要求受害者輸入他們的用戶名和密碼。

20220720_chkp_3
圖 3:主題為“Incoming Shipment Notification”的惡意郵件
20220720_chkp_4
圖 4:欺詐登錄頁面

Outlook 網絡釣魚電子郵件 - 帳戶盜竊示例

在這封網絡釣魚電子郵件中,我們看到有人企圖竊取用戶的 Outlook 帳戶信息。 從電子郵件地址“Outlook OWA”發送的電子郵件(參見圖 5)包含主題行“[Action Required] Final Reminder – Verify your OWA Account now”。 攻擊者試圖引誘受害者單擊惡意鏈接,從而將用戶重定向到欺詐性 Outlook Web 應用登錄頁面(參見圖 6)。 在惡意鏈接中,用戶需要輸入他們的用戶名和密碼。

20220720_chkp_5
圖 5:發送主題為“[Action required] Final Reminder – 驗證您的 OWA 的惡意電子郵件
20220720_chkp_6
圖 6:欺詐登錄頁面

亞馬遜網絡釣魚電子郵件 - 賬單信息盜竊示例

在這封網絡釣魚電子郵件中,我們看到有人企圖竊取用戶的賬單信息。 從電子郵件地址“Amazon”發送的電子郵件(參見圖 7)包含主題行“您的亞馬遜帳戶驗證”。 電子郵件的標題及其內容是攻擊者試圖誘使受害者單擊惡意鏈接,從而將用戶重定向到要求輸入帳單信息的欺詐性頁面(參見圖 8)。

20220720_chkp_7
圖7:主題為“Your amazon account verification”的惡意郵件
20220720_chkp_8
圖 8:驗證賬單信息的欺詐頁面

關於Check Point研究 

Check Point Research為您提供領先的網絡威脅情報 Check Point Software 客戶和更大的情報界。 研究團隊收集並分析存儲在ThreatCloud上的全球網絡攻擊數據,以阻止黑客攻擊,同時確保所有Check Point產品都已得到最新保護。 該研究團隊由100多名分析師和研究人員組成,他們與其他安全廠商,執法部門和各種CERT合作。

通過以下方式關注Check Point Research:

關於我們 Check Point Software 科技有限公司

Check Point Software 科技有限公司(www.checkpoint.com) 是為全球企業和政府提供網絡安全解決方案的領先供應商。 Check Point Infinity 的解決方案組合以行業領先的惡意軟件、勒索軟件和其他威脅捕獲率保護企業和公共組織免受第 5 代網絡攻擊。 Infinity 包含三個核心支柱,可在企業環境中提供無與倫比的安全性和第五代威脅防禦: Check Point Harmony,適用於遠程用戶; Check Point CloudGuard,自動保護雲; 和 Check Point Quantum,用於保護網絡邊界和數據中心,所有這些都由業界最全面、最直觀的統一安全管理控制。 Check Point 保護超過 100,000 家各種規模的組織。

###

Brands that top the list of phishing attempts in Check Point Software’s Brand Phishing Report for Q2 2022

code on screen

What To Know

  • The report uses the example of an Outlook phishing email with the subject line “[Action Required] Final Reminder – Verify your OWA Account now” to illustrate how a user could be tricked into visiting a fake Outlook website and giving away their login information.
  • “They give cybercriminals the opportunity to leverage the reputation of trusted brands to give users a false sense of security that can be exploited to steal personal or commercial information for financial gain.

Editor’s brief: Phishing is getting more rampant, with some brands hitting the top of the list for scammers attempting to trick consumers into divulging their personal and access details. For example, brands such as DHL are frequently imitated by scammers in phishing attempts, since many consumers do purchase products from overseas and tracking their purchases is common. Check Point Software’s Brand Phishing Report for Q2 2022 lists the top brands being faked. Read more below.

SINGAPORE – Check Point Research (CPR), the Threat Intelligence arm of Check Point® Software Technologies Ltd. (NASDAQ: CHKP) and a leading provider of cyber security solutions globally, has published its Brand Phishing Report for Q2 2022. The report highlights the brands that were most frequently imitated by cybercriminals in their attempts to steal individuals’ personal information or payment credentials over the quarter.

After breaking into the top five most imitated brands in Q1, social media platform LinkedIn maintained its position as the industry standard. While Facebook’s share has decreased from 52% in Q1 to 45% in Q2 of all phishing attempts, this worrying trend still highlights the ongoing risks facing users of the trusted social media platform. Generally speaking, social networks remain the most imitated category, followed by technology, which this quarter surpassed shipping to become the most imitated sector.

Microsoft saw the most dramatic increase, with 13% of all brand phishing attempts, more than doubling from the previous quarter and displacing DHL from third place, which had 12%. Researchers will be keeping a close eye on the progress of brands like Adidas, Adobe, and HSBC in Q3 after breaking into the top 10 for the first time.

Increased Microsoft-related phishing attempts pose a risk to both individuals and businesses. Your Outlook email account isn’t the only thing at risk if a hacker obtains your login information; they’ll also have access to all the other services that use your account as a backend. The report uses the example of an Outlook phishing email with the subject line “[Action Required] Final Reminder – Verify your OWA Account now” to illustrate how a user could be tricked into visiting a fake Outlook website and giving away their login information.

Subject lines such as “You appeared in 8 searches this week,” “You have one new message,” and “I’d like to do business with you via LinkedIn” are examples of LinkedIn phishing emails that mimic the platform’s professional tone. Although it looked like it came from LinkedIn, the sender actually used an address that had nothing to do with the company.

As online shopping continues to rise in popularity, it is not surprising that 12% of all phishing attacks in Q2 used a fake DHL website. The report describes one such phishing scam in which consumers are duped into clicking on a malicious link in an email with the subject line “Incoming Shipment Notification.”

“Phishing emails are a prominent tool in every hacker’s arsenal as they are fast to deploy and can target millions of users at relatively low cost,” said Omer Dembinsky, Data Research Group Manager at Check Point Software. “They give cybercriminals the opportunity to leverage the reputation of trusted brands to give users a false sense of security that can be exploited to steal personal or commercial information for financial gain.

“The criminals will use any brand with sufficient reach and consumer trust. Hence, we see hackers expanding their activities with the first appearance of Adidas, Adobe, and HSBC in the top 10. The hackers trade on our trust in these brands and that very human instinct for ‘the deal.’ There’s a reason the hackers continue to use brand-based phishing. It works. So, consumers need to act with caution and look out for tell-tale signs of the fake email, like poor grammar, spelling mistakes or strange domain names. If in doubt, head for the brand’s own website rather than clicking any links.”

Brand phishing attacks prey on consumers’ trust in well-known companies by using the company’s logo and other recognizable brand elements in their own websites’ URLs. They also appeal to basic human emotions like the desire to avoid missing out on a deal. Customers feel pressured into acting quickly, even if they haven’t verified that the email really comes from the brand they think it does. As a result, they risk unwittingly downloading malicious software or disclosing sensitive personal information that could give cybercriminals access to their entire online life and even cause them financial harm.

Top phishing brands in Q2 2022

Below are the top brands ranked by their overall appearance in brand phishing attempts:

  1. LinkedIn (45%)
  2. Microsoft (13%)
  3. DHL (12%)
  4. Amazon (9%)
  5. Apple (3%)
  6. Adidas (2%)
  7. Google (1%)
  8. Netflix (1%)
  9. Adobe (1%)
  10. HSBC (1%)

LinkedIn Phishing Email- Account Theft Example

During the Q2 of 2022, we observed a malicious phishing email that used LinkedIn’s branding. The phishing email was sent from a webmail address and spoofed to appear as if it was sent from “LinkedIn Security”. The email contained the subject “LinkedIn Notice!!!”, and the content (see Figure 1) tries to entice the victim to click on a malicious link under the guise of updating their LinkedIn account version. This click will lead to the link, where the victim is then required to enter their LinkedIn account information (see Figure 2).

20220720_chkp_image1

Figure 1: The malicious email which was sent with the subject “LinkedIn Notice!!!”

20220720_chkp_2

Figure 2: Fraudulent page to verification LinkedIn account information

DHL Phishing Email – Account Theft Example

During the second quarter of 2022, we observed a malicious phishing email that used DHL’s branding. The phishing email was sent from a webmail address and spoofed to appear as if it was sent from “DHL EXPRESS”. The email contained the subject line “Incoming Shipment Notification”,and the content (see Figure 3) tries to persuade the victim to click on a malicious link. The victim is then required to enter their username and password.

20220720_chkp_3

Figure 3: The malicious email with the subject “Incoming Shipment Notification”

20220720_chkp_4

Figure 4: Fraudulent login page

Outlook Phishing Email – Account Theft Example

In this phishing email, we see an attempt to steal a user’s Outlook account information. The email (see Figure 5) which was sent from the email address “Outlook OWA”, contained the subject line “[Action Required] Final Reminder – Verify your OWA Account now”. The attacker was trying to lure the victim to click on a malicious link, which redirects the user to a fraudulent Outlook web app login page (see Figure 6). In the malicious link, the user needed to enter their username and password.

20220720_chkp_5

Figure 5: The malicious email which was sent with the subject “[Action required] Final Reminder – Verify your OWA

20220720_chkp_6

Figure 6: Fraudulent login page

Amazon Phishing Email – Billing Information Theft Example

In this phishing email, we see an attempt to steal a user’s billing information. The email (see Figure 7) which was sent from the email address “Amazon”, contained the subject line “Your amazon account verification”. The title of the email and its contents are an attempt by the attacker to entice the victim to click on a malicious link, which redirects the user to a fraudulent page asking to enter billing information (see Figure 8).

20220720_chkp_7

Figure 7: The malicious email which was sent with the subject “Your amazon account verification”

20220720_chkp_8

Figure 8: Fraudulent page to verification billing information

###

seamusthewriter

Written by

Microwire.news (aka microwire.info) is a content outreach and amplification platform for news, events, brief product and service reviews, commentaries, and analyses in the relevant industries. Part of McGallen & Bolden Group initiative. Copyrights belong to the respective authors/owners and the news service is not responsible for the content presented.

You may also like...