编者简介:尽管全球危机促使政府和企业更加重视成本控制,同时也解决了大流行的后果,但开源软件(OSS)的采用已变得非常重要。 随着OSS在最终用户级别以及SDLC(软件开发生命周期)阶段的采用,对代码完整性和安全性的需求已变得至关重要。 但是,是否可以快速修补OSS组件? 供应商的版本如下。

Synopsys研究表明开源安全性是首要考虑因素,但修补速度太慢

对1,500名IT专业人员的全球调查发现,全球40%的受访者为解决开源漏洞而中断了交付计划

新加坡,@mcgallen#microwire资讯,9年2020月XNUMX日Synopsys,Inc. (纳斯达克: SNPS)今天发布了该报告, 2020年DevSecOps实践和开源管理。 由产生 新思网络安全研究中心 (CyRC),该报告重点介绍了对1,500名从事网络安全,软件开发,软件工程和Web开发的IT专业人员的调查结果。 该报告探讨了全球组织用于解决开源漏洞管理的策略,以及商业代码中过时或废弃的开源组件日益严重的问题。

开源在当今的软件生态系统中扮演着至关重要的角色。 绝大多数现代代码库都包含开源组件,而开源通常占整个代码的70%或更多。 然而,与开放源使用的增长并行的是不受管理的开放源带来的日益严重的安全风险。 实际上,根据 2020 OSSRA报告Synopsys审核的代码库中,有75%包含具有已知安全漏洞的开源组件。 为了应对这种情况,调查的受访者引用了已知的安全漏洞作为审核新的开源组件时的首要标准。

“很明显,未修补的漏洞是导致开发人员痛苦的主要来源,甚至最终是业务风险。” Synopsys网络安全研究中心首席安全策略师Tim Mackey说。 “《 2020年DevSecOps实践和开源管理》报告强调了组织如何努力有效地跟踪和管理其开源风险。”

Mackey继续说道:“超过一半的人(占51%)说,他们需要两到三个星期才能应用开放源代码补丁。 “这可能与以下事实有关:只有38%的人使用自动软件组成分析(SCA)工具来确定使用了哪些开源组件以及何时发布更新。 其余的组织可能正在使用手动流程来管理开源程序,这些流程可能减慢开发和运营团队的速度,迫使他们在平均每天发布数十个新安全披露的环境中追赶安全。”

“ 2020年DevSecOps实践和开源管理”报告中的其他值得注意的发现包括:

  • DevSecOps在全球范围内发展迅速。 总计63%的受访者表示,他们正在将一些DevSecOps活动纳入其软件开发管道中。
  • 没有普遍采用的应用程序安全测试(AST)工具。 正如对调查问题的回答所表明的那样,不乏应用程序安全性测试工具和技术。 但是,即使采用率最高的AST工具仍然只有不到一半的受访者使用。
  • 媒体在开源风险管理中起着重要作用。 XNUMX%的受访者指出,媒体报道促使他们的组织对开放源代码的使用采取更严格的控制措施。
  • XNUMX%的受访者在他们使用的开源组件时代定义了标准。 开源社区中一个日益严重的问题是项目的可持续性。 2020年 Synopsys研究 研究表明,91年审核的代码库中有2019%包含开源组件,这些组件要么已过期四年以上,要么在过去两年中没有开发活动。 部署过时的代码时,安全风险会增加,包括劫持开源组件的威胁。 这种情况发生在2018年,当时事件流组件被劫持以针对Copay账户中的比特币。

要了解更多信息,请下载 2020年DevSecOps实践和开源管理 报告。

关于Synopsys软件完整性小组

Synopsys软件完整性小组可帮助开发团队构建安全,高质量的软件,在最大程度地提高速度和生产力的同时最大程度地降低风险。 Synopsys是应用程序安全性领域公认的领导者,它提供静态分析,软件组成分析和动态分析解决方案,使团队可以快速查找和修复专有代码,开源组件和应用程序行为中的漏洞和缺陷。 结合行业领先的工具,服务和专业知识,只有Synopsys才能帮助组织在DevSecOps和整个软件开发生命周期中优化安全性和质量。 了解更多 www.synopsys.com/software.

关于Synopsys

Synopsys公司(纳斯达克股票代码:SNPS)是Silicon to Software™的合作伙伴,为创新公司开发我们每天依赖的电子产品和软件应用程序。 作为全球第15大软件公司,Synopsys在电子设计自动化(EDA)和半导体IP领域处于全球领导者的悠久历史,并且在软件安全性和质量解决方案方面的领导地位也在不断提高。 无论您是创建高级半导体的片上系统(SoC)设计人员,还是编写要求最高安全性和质量的应用程序的软件开发人员,Synopsys都能提供交付创新,高质量,安全产品所需的解决方案。 了解更多 www.synopsys.com.

###

Posted on

Editor’s brief: While the global crisis has pushed governments and businesses to look more seriously at cost containment while also addressing the pandemic fallouts, open source software (OSS) adoption has become important. With the adoption of OSS both at the end-user level as well at the SDLC (software development lifecycle) stages, the need for code integrity and security has become paramount. However, is the patching of OSS components up to speed? The vendor’s release is below.

Synopsys Study Shows Open Source Security Top-of-Mind but Patching Too Slow

Global survey of 1,500 IT professionals finds that 40% of respondents worldwide had delivery schedules disrupted to address open source vulnerabilities

SINGAPORE, @mcgallen #microwireinfo, December 9, 2020Synopsys, Inc. (Nasdaq: SNPS) today released the report, DevSecOps Practices and Open Source Management in 2020. Produced by the Synopsys Cybersecurity Research Center (CyRC), the report highlights the findings from a survey of 1,500 IT professionals working in cyber security, software development, software engineering, and web development. The report explores the strategies that organisations around the world are using to address open source vulnerability management as well as the growing problem of outdated or abandoned open source components in commercial code.

Open source plays a critical role in today’s software ecosystem. The overwhelming majority of modern codebases contain open source components, with open source often comprising 70% or more of the overall code. Yet paralleling the growth of open source use is the mounting security risk posed by unmanaged open source. In fact, according to the 2020 OSSRA report, 75% of the codebases audited by Synopsys contain open source components with known security vulnerabilities. To combat this situation, respondents to the survey cite identification of known security vulnerabilities as the number one criterion when vetting new open source components.

“It’s clear that unpatched vulnerabilities are a major source of developer pain, and ultimately business risk.” said Tim Mackey, principal security strategist of the Synopsys Cybersecurity Research Center. “The ‘DevSecOps Practices and Open Source Management in 2020’ report highlights how organisations are struggling to effectively track and manage their open source risk.”

“Over half — 51% — say it takes two to three weeks for them to apply an open source patch,” Mackey continued. “This is likely tied to the fact that only 38% are using an automated software composition analysis (SCA) tool to identify which open source components are in use and when updates are released. The remaining organisations are probably employing manual processes to manage open source — processes that can slow down development and operations teams, forcing them to play catch-up on security in a climate where, on average, dozens of new security disclosures are published daily.”

Other noteworthy findings in the “DevSecOps Practices and Open Source Management in 2020” report include:

  • DevSecOps is rapidly growing worldwide. A combined 63% of respondents reported that they are incorporating some measure of DevSecOps activities into their software development pipelines.
  • There is no universally adopted application security testing (AST) tool. As the responses to the survey questions indicate, there is no shortage of application security testing tools and techniques. However, even the AST tool with the highest adoption rate is still only utilised by less than half of respondents.
  • The media plays an important role in open source risk management. Forty-six percent of respondents noted that media coverage had prompted their organisation to apply more stringent controls on open source usage.
  • Forty-seven percent of respondents are defining standards around the age of open source components they use. A growing issue in the open source community is project sustainability. A 2020 Synopsys study showed that 91% of codebases audited in 2019 contained open source components that either were more than four years out of date or had no development activity in the past two years. Security risks increase when obsolete code is deployed, including the threat of an open source component being hijacked. Such a situation occurred in 2018 when the event-stream component was hijacked to target Bitcoin in Copay accounts.

To learn more, download a copy of the DevSecOps Practices and Open Source Management in 2020 report.

About the Synopsys Software Integrity Group

Synopsys Software Integrity Group helps development teams build secure, high-quality software, minimising risks while maximising speed and productivity. Synopsys, a recognised leader in application security, provides static analysis, software composition analysis, and dynamic analysis solutions that enable teams to quickly find and fix vulnerabilities and defects in proprietary code, open source components, and application behaviour. With a combination of industry-leading tools, services, and expertise, only Synopsys helps organisations optimise security and quality in DevSecOps and throughout the software development life cycle. Learn more at www.synopsys.com/software.

About Synopsys

Synopsys, Inc. (Nasdaq: SNPS) is the Silicon to Software™ partner for innovative companies developing the electronic products and software applications we rely on every day. As the world’s 15th largest software company, Synopsys has a long history of being a global leader in electronic design automation (EDA) and semiconductor IP and is also growing its leadership in software security and quality solutions. Whether you’re a system-on-chip (SoC) designer creating advanced semiconductors, or a software developer writing applications that require the highest security and quality, Synopsys has the solutions needed to deliver innovative, high-quality, secure products. Learn more at www.synopsys.com.

###