發佈於

新加坡,@mcgallen#microwire信息,18年2019月XNUMX日– Check Point Research,威脅情報部門 CheckPoint®軟件技術有限公司 (NASDAQ:CHKP),全球領先的網絡安全解決方案提供商,最近幫助緩解了 WhatsApp 可能會使不良行為者傳遞惡意的群組聊天消息,從而使該群組的所有成員都無法使用該應用程序。 要重新使用WhatsApp,用戶需要先卸載並重新安裝它,然後刪除包含該消息的組。

要創建會影響WhatsApp組的惡意消息,惡意參與者必須成為目標組的成員(WhatsApp每個組最多允許256個用戶)。 從那裡開始,不良行為者將需要使用WhatsApp Web及其Web瀏覽器的調試工具來編輯特定的消息參數,並將編輯後的文本發送給該組。 修改後的消息將導致組成員崩潰,從而拒絕用戶訪問所有WhatsApp功能,直到他們重新安裝WhatsApp並刪除帶有惡意消息的組。

Check Point產品漏洞研究負責人Oded Vanunu表示:“由於WhatsApp是面向消費者,企業和政府機構的全球領先的溝通渠道之一,因此能夠阻止人們使用WhatsApp並從群聊中刪除有價值的信息的能力是強大的武器。壞演員。 所有WhatsApp用戶都應更新到該應用程序的最新版本,以保護自己免受這種可能的攻擊。”

Check Point Research以負責任的態度在28年2019月2.19.58日向WhatsApp漏洞賞金計劃披露了其發現結果。WhatsApp認可了發現並開發了解決此問題的修復程序,該解決方案自WhatsApp版本號XNUMX起可用。 用戶應在其設備上手動申請。 Oded Vanunu說:“ WhatsApp做出了迅速而負責的響應,以部署緩解措施來利用此漏洞。”

“ WhatsApp非常重視技術社區的工作,以幫助我們為全球用戶維護強大的安全性,” WhatsApp軟件工程師Ehren Kret說。 “由於Check Point向我們的漏洞賞金計劃提交了負責任的文件,我們很快在XNUMX月中旬為所有WhatsApp應用解決了此問題。 我們最近還添加了新的控件,以防止人們被添加到不需要的組中,從而避免與不受信任的各方一起交流。”

Check Point Research團隊通過檢查WhatsApp和WhatsApp Web之間的通信發現了該漏洞,WhatsApp Web是該應用程序的網絡版本,該版本反映了從用戶手機發送和接收的所有消息。 這使研究人員能夠查看用於WhatsApp通信的參數並進行操作。 這項新的研究建立在 Check Point Research發現的“ FakesApp”缺陷,允許編輯群聊消息以傳播假新聞。

WhatsApp有 1.5十億用戶 超過十億個群組,使其成為全球最受歡迎的即時通訊應用程序。 每天通過WhatsApp發送超過65億條消息。

觀看 演示視頻 攻擊的原理,並在我們的研究報告中閱讀完整的技術細節 這裡.

關於Check Point研究
Check Point Research為您提供領先的網絡威脅情報 Check Point Software 客戶和更大的情報界。 研究團隊收集並分析存儲在ThreatCloud上的全球網絡攻擊數據,以阻止黑客攻擊,同時確保所有Check Point產品都已得到最新保護。 該研究團隊由100多名分析師和研究人員組成,他們與其他安全廠商,執法部門和各種CERT合作。

通過以下方式關注Check Point Research:

關於我們 Check Point Software 科技有限公司
Check Point Software 科技有限公司(www.checkpoint.com)是為全球政府和企業提供網絡安全解決方案的領先提供商。 其解決方案通過行業領先的惡意軟件,勒索軟件和其他類型的攻擊捕獲率,保護客戶免受網絡攻擊。 Check Point提供了一種多層安全體系結構,可以保護企業的雲,網絡和移動設備保留的信息,以及最全面,最直觀的控制安全管理系統。 Check Point可保護超過100,000個各種規模的組織。

###

Check Point Research Leads to WhatsApp Group Chat Crash Issue Fix

20160817_chkp_graphic

SINGAPORE, @mcgallen #microwireinfo, December 18, 2019 – Check Point Research, the Threat Intelligence arm of Check Point® Software Technologies Ltd. (NASDAQ: CHKP), a leading provider of cyber security solutions globally, recently helped mitigate a new vulnerability in WhatsApp that could allow a bad actor to deliver a malicious group chat message that would crash the app for all members of the group. To regain use of WhatsApp, users would need to uninstall and reinstall it, then delete the group which contains the message.

To create the malicious message that would impact a WhatsApp group, the bad actor would need to be a member of the target group (WhatsApp allows up to 256 users per group). From there, the bad actor would need to use WhatsApp Web and their web browser’s debugging tool to edit specific message parameters and send the edited text to the group. This edited message would cause a crash loop for group members, denying users access to all WhatsApp functions until they reinstall WhatsApp and delete the group with the malicious message.

Oded Vanunu, Check Point’s Head of Product Vulnerability Research said: “Because WhatsApp is one of the world’s leading communication channels for consumers, businesses and government agencies, the ability to stop people using WhatsApp and delete valuable information from group chats is a powerful weapon for bad actors. All WhatsApp users should update to the latest version of the app to protect themselves against this possible attack.”

Check Point Research responsibly disclosed its findings to the WhatsApp bug bounty program on August 28th, 2019. WhatsApp acknowledged the findings and developed a fix to resolve the issue, which is available since WhatsApp version number 2.19.58.  Users should manually apply on their devices. “WhatsApp responded quickly and responsibly to deploy the mitigation against exploitation of this vulnerability,” said Oded Vanunu.

“WhatsApp greatly values the work of the technology community to help us maintain strong security for our users globally,” said WhatsApp Software Engineer Ehren Kret. “Thanks to the responsible submission from Check Point to our bug bounty program, we quickly resolved this issue for all WhatsApp apps in mid-September. We have also recently added new controls to prevent people from being added to unwanted groups to avoid communication with untrusted parties all together.”

The Check Point Research team found the vulnerability by inspecting the communications between WhatsApp and WhatsApp Web, the web version of the app which mirrors all messages sent and received from the user’s phone. This enabled researchers to see the parameters used for WhatsApp communications and manipulate them. This new research builds on the ‘FakesApp’ flaws discovered by Check Point Research, which allowed group chat messages to be edited to spread fake news.

WhatsApp has 1.5 billion users and more than a billion groups, making it the most popular instant messaging app worldwide. Over 65 billion messages are sent via WhatsApp per day.

Watch the demo video of how the attack works, and read the full technical details in our research report here.

About Check Point Research
Check Point Research provides leading cyber threat intelligence to Check Point Software customers and the greater intelligence community. The research team collects and analyzes global cyber-attack data stored on ThreatCloud to keep hackers at bay, while ensuring all Check Point products are updated with the latest protections. The research team consists of over 100 analysts and researchers cooperating with other security vendors, law enforcement and various CERTs.

Follow Check Point Research via:

About Check Point Software Technologies Ltd.
Check Point Software Technologies Ltd. (www.checkpoint.com) is a leading provider of cyber security solutions to governments and corporate enterprises globally. Its solutions protect customers from cyber-attacks with an industry leading catch rate of malware, ransomware and other types of attacks. Check Point offers a multilevel security architecture that defends enterprises’ cloud, network and mobile device held information, plus the most comprehensive and intuitive one point of control security management system. Check Point protects over 100,000 organisations of all sizes.

###